Ann Barlow

Ann BarlowFor the last 20 years of my working life I was a librarian at Goldsmiths College, New Cross. On retiring , I decided I wanted to have more to do with poetry. I found details of Shortlands Poetry Circle in the Bromley Arts Council Diary. I still remember the two poems I read at my first meeting in September 1995: Edwin Muir’s “The horses” and “Spellbound” by Emily Bronte.

Some of my favourite poems are: “Rondeau” (Jenny kissed me) by James Leigh Hunt, “The Roman Centurion’s Song” by Rudyard Kipling and “Horatius (kept the bridge” by Lord Macaulay. I have found that poets I thought I did not like, improve on listening to others reading them in an afternoon. Being a member has made me more familiar with contemporary poets, which encourages me to go to hear them reading.

I have in the past served on the Committee as a general member (2 years), President (4 years) and Treasurer (1 year). I currently print out the termly Programmes to distribute to members, and research biographies of the poets that we read every other meeting. With Muriel Letman I have organised some Circle members to give two Poetry Readings at St George’s church, Beckenham.

Shortlands Poetry Circle is one of the most enjoyable parts of my life.

Ann Barlow

Leave a Reply

