Tag Archives: David Harsent

TS Eliot Prize. The Winner

After four previous appearances on the shortlist for the TS Eliot prize for poetry, David Harsent has finally achieved the honours for his eleventh collection of poems. Helen Dunmore, who chaired the judging panel, said that his latest collection Fire Songs ‘ plumbs language and emotion with technical brilliance and prophetic power.’ She also described him as ‘a poet for dark and dangerous days.’


TS Eliot Prize Shortlisted Poets

Judges Helen Dunmore (Chair), Sean Borodale and Fiona Sampson have chosen the short-list from 113 books submitted by publishers:

  • Fiona Benson – Bright Travellers (Jonathan Cape)
  • John Burnside – All One Breath (Jonathan Cape)
  • Louise Glück – Faithful and Virtuous Night (Carcanet)
  • David Harsent – Fire Songs (Faber)
  • Michael Longley – The Stairwell (Jonathan Cape)
  • Ruth Padel – Learning to Make an Oud in Nazareth (Chatto & Windus)
  • Pascale Petit – Fauverie (Seren)
  • Kevin Powers – Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting (Sceptre)
  • Arundhathi Subramaniam – When God is a Traveller (Bloodaxe)
  • Hugo Williams – I Knew the Bride (Faber)

The Members’ Newsletter of the Poetry Book Society is publishing biographies and reviews for each short-listed poet together with three of their poems.